View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
HWA
Joined: 28 Nov 2007 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:54 pm Post subject: Log on kicks current user |
|
|
Hello! And thanks for what's proving itself to be a great product. It's working well, but there is one problem we're having difficulty overcoming...
We run FS in a hotel, and provide (as do most hotels now) free Internet to guests.
We've got multiple user accounts for guests (e.g. multiple computers) in the same room. Here's what happens:
User Room128 logs on and is surfing fine...
Second computer logs on as Room128 and kicks off current user.
Question: Is there a way to have the existing user NOT get logged off when the same UserID is used again?
We've tried binding to MAC, but this doesn't appear to work. The existing computer still gets kicked off, and the new computer can't log in, either. What we need is something that will bind to the MAC, but only for the logged on duration. Since the timeout is set at 60 minutes, once the timeout is reached, can FS then release the MAC binding?
We need to control access as well as monitor bandwidth. Through the various settings, we've got this figured out and seems to be working quite well. This is most likely our biggest remaining issue, and the only one we haven't been able to figure out...so far :)
Thanks for any help, we appreciate it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alan Forum facilitator
Joined: 26 Sep 2003 Posts: 4435
|
Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 4:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
The FirstSpot username/password is designed so that only one concurrent user can be logged in at any one time.
Please try to explore the feature "Shared Secret" (under Authentication Server -> Anonymous option). It allows you to have several users sharing the same login. _________________ ~ Patronsoft Limited ~ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
HWA
Joined: 28 Nov 2007 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:58 pm Post subject: RE: Log on kicks current user |
|
|
Alan,
Thanks for following up...
The problem is we don't want anyone sharing UserID's and passwords. If they've got more than one computer, we want each one using their own. That's why every UserID/password combo is generated at check-in.
Ideally, what we would like to see is a message on the second connecting computer, stating something along the lines of "UserID xxx is already logged on, hitting OK (or some other button) will log off the current user".
If there's a way to accomplish that, it would be great. Surely there's somewhere in the PHP scripting that we could accomplish it???
I think this is a great way to eliminate UserID/password sharing, and will help many of the questions I've seen in various threads here on this forum (like the guy with all the lawyers). For a hotspot designed software solution, this should be a no-brainer, yes?
Thanks for any help...
Scott |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alan Forum facilitator
Joined: 26 Sep 2003 Posts: 4435
|
Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am still a bit confused on your requirements.
Currently, user only needs a username/password to gain access. If a second login attempt using the same username/password is performed (while the first login is not disconnected yet), it will prompt the client whether he wants to disconnect the currently logged in user and get access himself (is that you want to disable/customize this part?).
If "Bind to first login MAC address" is set, FirstSpot will remember the client MAC address for the very first login. And all subsequent login using that username/password must use the same MAC address (i.e. from the same PC) as well. _________________ ~ Patronsoft Limited ~ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
HWA
Joined: 28 Nov 2007 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, how about this:
Can we modify something so that when a UserID tries to log on, if its' already logged on, it will just come up with a message stating that, and not affect the already logged on user? And not log on?
Easiest solution would probably be to just point him back to the logon page, rather than giving him/her the option to kick the existing user.
That would be good...
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alan Forum facilitator
Joined: 26 Sep 2003 Posts: 4435
|
Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
This should be easy. You just need to (assuming you are using v5.0.0 final release):
1) remove line 352 of fs_login.php (this will remove the re-login button). Below is the line you need to remove:
<input type="submit" class="normalbtn" name="btn_relogin" value="Click here to re-login" onclick="popInfoBox()">
2) to change the text in that page. You need to define a variable $lang['logged'] in the file custom_lang.php under FirstSpot\FirstSpot\authserv\lang directory (check out lang.php for the default text. make sure you don't change lang.php). Refer to chapter 3 (UI Customization session) of firstspot_guide.pdf for more discussion on the relationship between lang.php and custom_lang.php. _________________ ~ Patronsoft Limited ~ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
HWA
Joined: 28 Nov 2007 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Alan,
Thanks, and we're SO close... :)
After the text, how do we set it to go back to the login page, like it does if you enter a bad password??
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alan Forum facilitator
Joined: 26 Sep 2003 Posts: 4435
|
Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Replace
genTable('',$input);
at line 354 after :
<form class="failloginspan" name="forcelogout" action="fs_login.php" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="username" value="'.$username.'">
<input type="hidden" name="password" value="'.$password.'">
<input type="hidden" name="sess_patronsoft1" value="'.$sess_patronsoft1.'">
<input type="hidden" name="sess_patronsoft2" value="'.$sess_patronsoft2.'">
<input type="hidden" name="ok_url" value="redirect.php">
<input type="hidden" name="fail_url" value="login_form.php">
<input type="hidden" name="zero_url" value="cart.php">
<input type="hidden" name="cart_url" value="cart.php">
<input type="hidden" name="logout" value="true">
<input type="submit" class="normalbtn" name="btn_relogin" value="Click here to re-login" onclick="popInfoBox()">
</form>';
with
genTable('<META HTTP-EQUIV="Refresh" CONTENT="'.$wait_b4_to_fail_page.';URL='.$fail_url.'">',$input); _________________ ~ Patronsoft Limited ~ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
HWA
Joined: 28 Nov 2007 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Alan,
Thanks a bunch. Working perfectly. We just removed this line:
<input type="submit" class="normalbtn" name="btn_relogin" value="Click here to re-login" onclick="popInfoBox()">
to get rid of the button (they don't get to kick anyone off), and we're perfect.
Thanks again! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|